Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

Coincidental Content

Posted at

Ever had an idea only to suddenly see it somewhere else?

I have. I used to play a Star Wars game called Rebellion. Honestly rebellion was just okay but I loved editing it and puting my edited content online. Well two of my characters were Revan (though not Darth Revan) & Darth Malik and a big red kill assassin droid among other things.

So needless to say I about wet myself when I started playing Knights of the Old Republic and saw all three and a few other similarities. Now did they get their ideas from my old edits online? Unlikely since I put over 200 such edits online and the characters look very different from my own, however I've always thought it was pretty cool to think some of the KotR guys might have played my stuff and had that somewhere in their subconcious or even that it was just a case of coincidence it is still a great story and all my friends who had worked on the project with me had a good long laugh.

Has anything like that ever happened to you?

mlai
mlai
Posted at

Yeah, I don't have any proof, nor am I angry, but I believe Joe Maduira took some characters/ideas from my college newspaper comic strip and worked them into his unfinished comics series Battlechasers.

How would he get his hands on a university paper comics strip? Nearest I can figure is the comics book club I frequented. That club was composed of serious big-time comics nuts who go to cons, artists who aspire to go professional, etc. They all read my strip since I was basically the only artist worth a damn for that paper. Somehow it trickled to Joe Mad?

It may be coincidence, but what really convinced me was a single panel in Battlechasers which was practically identical in everything, to 1 of my panels. Of course Joe is a much better artist but otherwise identical.

marine
marine
Posted at

I was paid 200 dollars in the 80s for Spider-mans black costume.

(just kidding, someone else was though)

Mak
Mak