Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

Creator Interview: tyrapendragon of Slugs of Mystery and the Fusion!

Posted at

User: tyrapendragon

Comics/Projects: Drunk Duck Fusion and Slugs of Mystery. I'm also working on getting a Science Fiction novel published.
What part of the world do you live in: Seattle, Washington, USA
Are you single/boyfriend/girlfriend/married: Single
Children: None (unless you count my two cats)
Day job: Book Buyer at Amazon.com

Tell us a bit about yourself! Family background, your work, taste in music, any of that kind of stuff.

I grew up in Seattle, but was born in Sunnyvale California. I went to Lewis & Clark University in Portland, Oregon. I taught English in South Korea for two years.

I don't have any brothers or sisters and my parents divorced when I was 16.

I have been writing since I learned how. I'm more of a writer than an artist, but I started drawing to illustrate my stories. I am almost finished with a science fiction novel which I started writing in high school. I'm currently re-writing the last few chapters.

Does any of that have any bearing on your comic making process or creative decisions?

Not really, at least not for fusion. It was my Mother who inspired my personal comic, Slugs of Mystery. Whenever someone was being lazy she would call them a "slug of mystery." When I was about 10 my friend and I each decided to do a comic about that phrase. She ended up drawing this girl talking to her psychiatrist. In the last panel the doctor turned out to be a slug.

I started playing D&D (the ancient tabletop Role Playing Game) when I was eight at YMCA Daycare. I decided to write my comic about a group of adventurers that were slugs. Thus Slugs of Mystery was born.

Before the big crash I had posted these original comics as fillers. Maybe I'll post them when I finally finish the first chapter of Slugs.

You also run your own comic here on DD. What is Slugs of Mystery about?