Moonlight meanderer

Drunk Duck Creator Interview: carrollhach of Clench and Cheese

Posted at

Comic: Clench and Cheese
Pageviews: about 20,000 since September 30th
In what part of the world do you live: Iowa
Are you single/boyfriend/girlfriend/married: Happily married
Children: Two girls
Day job: Freelance Flash Animation and web design. I also teach at a local community college.

How long have you been making comics? Tell us a bit about that if you would, please.

I started drawing comics when I was a teenager and have kept a-going. I had one of the very first online comics sites, the Tonar Syndicate, which ran in 1995. I quit when the service provider hit me for a massive fee to cover high-bandwidth use, something which should have clued me in to the possibilities. Ah well. I took a fairly long hiatus after 1997 or so, but have come back to comics …my first love.

How did random everybodies go about trying to get their comic out there before webcomics came around?

Just before web comics, I was very fond of taking runs of ten different strips (reproduced at Kinko's) and stapling then to telephone poles around Portland. They very quickly disappeared, a fact I attributed to the rampant competition between the people that posted band fliers. Once, though, I saw a guy who had collected all of the comics and put them on a bulletin board. Though this is a small thing, I still consider it one of the greatest compliments I've received. I still have these and plan on putting them up on Drunk Duck some time.

So is the advent of webcomics a pretty good thing? It can't be all good, surely… how does it compare?