Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

Getting kicked out of my house!

Alexis
Alexis
Posted at

Not my parents house, the house I rent is being sold out from under me. I have until the end of August to find somewhere else to live and be out. I'm an artist and a bartender, my roommate and I can't afford much, we were lucky to find this place. Now we are screwed. We don't want to move out into the stix, but we'll never find anything this close to the city again. We live right outside D.C., which is a terrible housing market to be shopping in. Anyone have any suggestions? Mostly I just wanted to rant. :-(

Posted at

oh man, that sucks! and I bet they basically waited until the last mintue to tell you too…

well, if you can't afford much then I would suggest apartments over a rented house. not only are they cheaper it's better than nothing.

this way you have something over your head, and save up your rain money to find an house that WON'T be sold without your consent.

lefarce
lefarce
Posted at

Christ, that's a terrible area to have that happen to you. Do you at least have any relatives who will let you bunk up with them till you get things sorted out?

I mean, other than that, there are motels or extended stays that you can live in…

Really sorry to hear that. I've been kicked out and left damn near homeless dozens of times, and finding a new place is never fun.

hat
hat
Posted at

The housing market in the DC metro area is horrible (including VA and MD), you should probably relocate, seriously.

D0m
D0m
Posted at

You're in DC? I live in PG County…

My advice is to relocate, also. Especially if you wanna make it with your art.

Ozoneocean
Ozoneocean
Posted at

i say you should go live in a van down by the river
I agree.

But WTH is this doing here? Heh, the only WTH content is the fact that someone kicked the topic into WTH… It was fine in general…

SpANG
SpANG
Posted at

Man, really sorry to hear about that. I'm sure you'll land on your feet.