Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

Meet Andrew Foley

Posted at

Hi all.

Andrew Foley, co-writer of the Platinum Studios graphic novel COWBOYS & ALIENS (currently being serialized on Drunk Duck, if you didn't already know) here.

Some stuff about me:

-I'm a natural-born luddite–as an infant I took every opportunity to throw my booties at my mother's sewing machine–and know very little of these "webcomics" everyone seems to be talking about. So please forgive what is likely to be a long string of stupid questions, starting with "What exactly is a sprite?"

-I write comics for a living,

-It's not much of a living, yet.

-Previous or current writing credits include the vampire satire DONE TO DEATH for Markosia Entertainment, a volume of the award-winning Marv Wolfman-created/edited educational graphic novel series ORION, and the graphic novel PARTING WAYS for the now-defunct Speakeasy Comics (which is still being sold by Diamond without any money going to me or my co-creators {long story} and is currently being retooled as an e-book). I also co-wrote the second issue of Markosia's multi-generational superhero epic SMOKE & MIRROR, V.2.

-DONE TO DEATH has a workblog called DOING TO DEATH where I discuss various aspects of the comic's creation here: http://creators.thecomicsreview.com/blogs/foley/

-I don't update DOING TO DEATH as often as I should.

-I've been happily married to my wife Tiina for two years this October 30. We dressed up as Frankenstein's Monster and Bride of same for our wedding. I strangled a person during the ceremony. Our wedding cake bled when we cut it. Our first dance was to Alan Moore/David J collaboration "March of The Sinister Ducks".

-Everything in the previous paragraph is 100% true, except the bit about strangling someone during the ceremony. I only pretended to do that.