Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

Poor people don't get honeymoons :(

Posted at

We were really hoping to go to Prague for our honeymoon next summer. We picked it because the US dollar goes quite a way there, and since then we've been reading up on the city alot, and getting really excited, but today I checked airfare rates. If we bought the tickets now it would still cost almost $4000 just to get there.

After I pay rent I'll have $70 to last the next two weeks. Dinner tonight was Ramen noodles. It's just not gonna happen, just like we coulden't make it to Washington for the Sasquatch festival like we had hoped to do this summer.

It's not like I'm new to being poor. I've always been poor. I was poor growing up. I'm likely to be poor the day I die. My kids will be probably be poor too.

I just feel like I'm missing out, y'know? I don't care about just stuff. I can fit all my worldly possessions in the bed of my truck, (most of that is my computer too) and I like it that way. Fortunatly so does my future wife (who's also always been poor.)

I just want to get out and experiance something before I die. I don't wanna punch my ticket feeling like I wasted my life.

I shouldn't complain, I mean I live in a place a lot of people have always wanted to see… but winter is coming, hell it's basically here, and winters in Alaska suck about as much as you might imagine they would. Still, it's my home and I wouldn't trade it for anything. I just want a glimpse of something… memorable.

I was arguing with my boss last week. He insists you can still raise a family on a single income. My girlfriend and I both make decent money. We have very little debt. We clip coupons and carpool, and adhere to a budget, (we spend exactly $50 on luxury items each month) yet we're still broke again before each payday.

Our apartment leans to one side. I'm not kidding. The slant is bad enough that my desk chair is always sliding to the right. I can't even afford a verticle home.