Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

An honest, unbiased review

Jearb
Jearb
Posted at

Good day, sirs! I go by the alias Jearb. I noticed Harkovast not too long ago, and felt the need to review it regardless of whether people listen to me. I read a lot of webcomics (just check my RSS feeds) so I figured I have a pretty good aspect of "good" or "bad" or "so-so".

First of all, don't get me wrong, I am no artist. By merely looking at some of the comic, I know that the artist is really quite talented. I have trouble drawing cows. So I honestly cannot speak about the talent of the artist or bring that up as a subject.

I can, however, bring up the layout of the comic. I would consider this a little petty, but in my opinion, the mixture of computer-edited fonts and hand-drawn images looks…unfinished. In my opinion, getting a tablet to go along with the fonts would look better, or you could merely write the text in pencil. Whatever works - and heck, keep it that way if you like it and figure it's a "style" by now. The shading looks very well done, so I don't know if switching to a tablet would work.

Next, I apologize, but I have to remark about the anthropomorphic aspect of the comic. I'm going to put this out there early - I don't like humanoid animals in comics, or stories, or, honestly, anything. I feel it's a little overdone, what with Redwall and those owl books and those books about the cats and yadda-yadda.

And lastly (this is really petty)…I don't like how it's hosted on DrunkDuck. The images are fairly large, and they take half a forever for me to load with an only okay internet connection, regardless of all the other noise caused by the social-networking aspect. DrunkDuck does conveniently allow for forums and seems to be free (I haven't really worked with it too much), which is always a plus, but I figure if it's a really serious thing, you would benefit from a switch.