Advertise with us

Moonlight meanderer

Public Domain Heroes

Posted at

I've been looking into Public Domain heroes and I think a lot of them are pretty cool and could make for interesting flavor for HA (Maybe not entirely as heroes but as famous heroes or what have you)
But I'm not too sure as what I can and can't do with them since Public Domain and copyright are pretty confusing at best.
Any thoughts?

irrevenant
irrevenant
Posted at

I'm not a lawyer but my understanding is that, the following are the main "gotchas" with respect to using Public Domain heroes are:

1. Other versions or interpretations of the public domain characters may not be fair game.  For example, the novel Frankenstein is well out of copyright and anyone is free to retell the original story or create new stories involving those characters.  However, the novel doesn't describe what Frankenstein's Monster looks like.  The mental image we have of Frankenstein comes largely from the Frankenstein films.  And those are owned by Universal Studios who have a reputation for suing anyone who uses a version of the monster that resembles theirs (beware if your Frankenstein has (a) green skin, (b) scars on his forehead, © a protuding forehead, (d) a flat-top head or (e) bolts in the neck)  (https://www.plagiarismtoday.com/2011/10/24/how-universal-re-copyrighted-frankensteins-monster/)  So be careful that you only reference the public domain source.